tracieorsi

Home » Cliff Notes » Punxsutawney Stew

Punxsutawney Stew

tracieorsi

tracieorsi

Owner of Ragin' Cajun Restaurant in Belmar, New Jersey. Author of "Sittin' Bayou Makes Me Hot!"

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,913 other followers

Archives

Categories

Goodreads

Sittin’ Bayou Makes Me Hot!

"Sittin' Bayou Makes Me Hot!" is not only a cookbook with easy and delicious recipes, the stories will make you laugh. As Tracie Orsi Godier will tell you, "Laughter is free, share it."
What better way to have fun and laughter with your best friends then to cook up a delicious meal, have a few glasses of wine to make life a little more enjoyable?

Blog Stats

  • 3,826 hits

groundhogs2

“I’ll capture them wild and I’ll capture them scrawny, I’ll capture a scraggle-foot mulligatawny.”

Dr. Seuss, “If I Ran A Zoo”

God gave me blond hair and blue eyes so I can romp half naked on a beach somewhere.

Not dressed the size of a Sumo Wrestler.

It’s not winter I hate.

It’s being cold.

I hate the cold wind.

I hate when wet cold rain gets in my neck.

I hate when my hair turns to icicles because I’m late for work and didn’t have time to dry my hair.

I hate breathing with icicles forming in my nostrils.

My hands and feet crack. I hate it.

I want to stay inside and take a nap.

Cliff is headed out to get his numbers for the Super Bowl. He buys a few boxes with his friends and wins a quarter or two every year.

I ask him if there’s a pool for whether or not Punxsutawney Phil will see his shadow.

“What?”

He gets impatient with me sometimes.

You know. Punxsutawney Phil, the groundhog.

“Is today Groundhog Day?”

No, I tell him. Tomorrow is.

“Six more weeks of winter no matter what Phil says.”

Cliff hates the winter as much as I do.

“Let’s just move to an island,” he says every year.

My last name means bear in Italian. I’d like to hibernate all winter, not peeking from my comforter until there are light green buds on the trees.

I wish we could move to an island.

According to the Farmer’s Almanac, we can expect more winter weather.

If Phil sees his shadow, Spring will be on schedule.

No winter storms in April. No blizzards in May.

I thought if he didn’t see his shadow it was a bad thing because he’d come out of hibernation early and die in the next winter storm.

I’ve seen it happen to my tulips.

There are advantages to winter time.

I love to snuggle on the couch Saturday afternoons and read a book.

I love when it snows big snowflakes; covering the ground and the trees like a soft fluffy blanket.

So silent. So magic.

I love how the sun feels on my face though my breath is frosty.

I love the winter sky, the stars are bright, the constellations so clear.

I love when my nose is a bit chilly while I sleep.

I love soup.

I make a different soup every week.

Besides the Lobster Bisque, the Creole Onion Soup, Seafood or Chicken Gumbo that are on the menu every day,

I like to make Crab Broccoli Soup, Spicy Chicken Corn Chowder or Sausage and Bean Soup.

What am I in the mood for today?

Cliff is entering a chili cook-off tonight.

I’m not in the mood for chili.

I think about Old Punxsutawney Phil waking up from his nap.

I’d be a little perturbed if some old dude in a top hat and tuxedo rapped on my bedroom door telling me he invited a few thousand people over for a drink.

Of course Phil sees his shadow. He wakes up to 15 heavy-set Fred Astaire’s and a thousand drunken fools yelling his name.

He gets out of bed for that!

Since 1887, Phil has been predicting the length of winter. Ninety six times he ran back to bed.

I can’t blame him.

I’m a little cranky some mornings when Cliff wakes me up at five thirty to kiss me good morning before he leaves for work.

Next year, Phil should leave a copy of The Farmer’s Almanac by his doorstop.

That rag has been predicting the weather since 1818!

I suppose it wouldn’t be as much fun.

I do go out on February 2 every year to see if it’s sunny or not.

If it is, I put on a sweater and go for a walk.

I want to feel the sun on my face.

Today I take Bella out and we play in the yard. DSC_0219

I bet she’d love to roust a groundhog.

I look around for sprigs of green. I’m hoping the crocus will come early.

That’s how I predict Spring.

Today the sun has been in and out. A light snow dusted the front yard and I did see a bit of green showing through last year’s mulch.

I go inside to make a pot of soup.

Hmm. What should I make?

A little curry today?

Mulligatawny Stew?

I feel a bit devious.

Maybe I’ll make a different version of Mulligatawny. I’ll add some hot Italian Sausage and some white beans. I’ll use red curry paste instead of curry powder and see how it turns out.

I’ll call it Punxsutawney Stew, let it simmer, and go back to bed.

Punxsutawney Stew

6 cups chicken broth

1 boneless chicken breast cubed
2 small hot sausage links sliced
1 cup diced onion
1 cup diced celery
1 cup diced carrots
1 cup diced green pepper
14.5 oz can diced tomatoes
1 can small white beans, rinsed
1 tsp. black pepper
¼ tsp. thyme leaves
2 tsp. red curry paste
Pinch cayenne pepper

Mix all ingredients in a stock pot. Bring to a boil. Lower heat and simmer for ½ hour.

Some folks like to put a Granny Smith apple in their stew. I don’t, so I ate a pear while it was cooking. Is that the same thing?


3 Comments

  1. meghanarcuri says:

    that sounds delicious!!

  2. tracieorsi says:

    Reblogged this on tracieorsi and commented:

    After this winter, I’m comin’ for ya Phil!!!!

  3. Cris says:

    Loved this & miss you tracie og 🙂
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

